Exhibitions
2017
Fotobook festival
Kassel
Kassel is going to Moscow!

This year Moscow PHOTOBOOKFEST hosts The Fotobookfestival Kassel, which has gone on a journey first time in 9 years! Festival's route is amazing and the first stop is Turkey! The shortlist of Kassel Dummy Award 2017 has already been announced within Istanbul Photobook Festival and the jury will choose the winners soon. The collection of these photobooks will be presented in Moscow in two weeks' time.

Kassel Fotobookfestival's curator Dieter Neubert will present the shortlist and give a lecture on the opening day, 12 May at 7 pm, within PHOTOBOOKFEST's educational programme.

2017 shortlist jury: Federica Chiocchetti (Photocaptionist.com), Eva-Maria Kunz (Ceiba editions, ceibaeditions.com), Andrea Schmidt (Verlag Kettler, Dortmund), Jeffrey Ladd (Photographer, Cologne), Markus Schaden (The PhotoBookMuseum, Cologne), Dieter Neubert (Fotobookfestival, Kassel).

Eva-Maria Kunz about photobook's selection for the contest: «Knowing enough about book production I was able to imagine how eventual changes could enhance the content where needed. So my focus was very much on this aspect: the content. Did, what I was seeing, surprise me, make me laugh, make me feel, make me react in a strong way? Did I see something new, from a different view point? The question we'd go back to was: does the author have to tell something? A photographer, being a photographer, has the duty to tell her/his story, with strong convincing content».

49 travelling books are already known. Among them are İlyas Hajji, Ikuru Kuwajima, Olga Kravetz, Maria Morina and Oxana Yushko. The complete shortlist is available on the official web site of The Fotobookfestival Kassel here. All photobooks will be exhibited at PHOTOBOOKFEST in Moscow from 12 to 28 May. Afterwards the collection will travel to Poland to take part in Fotofestiwal Lodz.
The Lumiere Brothers Center for Photography
Bolotnaya emb, b. 3-1
12.05 — 26.05
Made by Piece of Cake

© 2017 PHOTOBOOKFEST
The Lumiere Brothers Center for Photography
Bolotnaya emb. 3-1, Moscow, 119072,
+7 (495) 228-98-78

Выставки
2017
Fotobook festival
Kassel
Кассель едет в Москву!

В этом году Фотобукфест станет одной из площадок знаменитого кассельского фестиваля фотокниг, который в свой девятый год снялся с якоря и отправился в путешествие. Маршрут увлекательный, первая остановка – Турция! Уже в конце апреля 2017 года в рамках Istanbul Photobook Festival будут объявлены финалисты кассельского конкурса и названы победители, а уже через две недели коллекция книг прибудет в Москву.

Куратор Kassel Fotobookfestival Дитер Нойберт (Dieter Neubert) лично представит шорт-лист и прочитает лекцию в день открытия, 12 мая в 19:00 в рамках публичной программы Фотобукфеста.

Членами международного жюри в этом году стали: Federica Chiocchetti (Photocaptionist.com), Eva-Maria Kunz (ceiba editions, ceibaeditions.com), Andrea Schmidt (Verlag Kettler, Dortmund), Jeffrey Ladd (Photographer, Cologne), Markus Schaden (The PhotoBookMuseum, Cologne), Dieter Neubert (Fotobookfestival, Kassel)

Eva-Maria Kunz о процессе отбора книг на конкурс: «Я решила сфокусироваться на одном аспекте: содержании. То, что я увидела - удивило меня, рассмешило, заставило испытать сильные эмоции или вызвало сильную реакцию? Увидела ли я что-то новое, c другой точки зрения? Вопрос, к которому мы возвращаемся - должен ли автор сказать что-то? Фотограф, будучи фотографом, обязан рассказать свою историю при помощи сильного, убедительного контента».

Уже известны 49 книг-путешественников, это в том числе работы Ильяса Хаджи (İlyas Hajji), Икуру Куваджима (Ikuru Kuwajima), Ольги Кравец, Марии Мориной и Оксаны Юшко. Полный список финалистов доступен на официальном сайте Kassel Fotobookfest. Все книги будут представлены в выставочном блоке фестиваля с 12 по 28 мая. А из Москвы они отправятся к нашим коллегам в Польшу на Fotofestiwal Lodz.
Центр фотографии
имени братьев Люмьер,
Болотная набережная д. 3. стр.1
12.05 — 26.05
Сделано в Piece of Cake

© 2017 PHOTOBOOKFEST
Центр фотографии имени братьев Люмьер
Болотная набережная, д. 3, стр. 1,
Москва, 119072
+7 (495) 228-98-78